These cupcakes are unbelievable. Everyone in my family is addicted to these, and it isn’t fall if I don’t make them. Perfect for Thanksgiving!

10806321_10152856163144188_412304274876460558_n

Ingredients for cupcakes
1 box of vanilla or yellow cake mix
1 apple
(3 oz) or 6 tablespoons of Cinnamon Sugar
2 packets of Alpine Spiced Apple Cider Drink Mix
2 eggs
1 cup water
1/3 cup vegetable oil

From the Dollar Tree I bought 1 box of yellow or vanilla cake mix. On the back of the box it will say it only makes 12 cupcakes, don’t believe this. Every time I have made this I was able to make 24 cupcakes plus at least 6 minis.
Also, from the Dollar Tree again, I bought 1 8 oz Baker’s Select Cinnamon Sugar container and 1 box of Alpine Spiced Apple Cider drink mix.

1. Put 2 packets of the Spiced Apple Cider into a cup and boil water. Add 1 cup of water to the 2 packets. Let it cool.
2. Peel and cut the apple into small cubes. Put into a sauce pan.
3. Add 1/4 cup of the Spiced Apple Cider to the apples and 1 tablespoon of cinnamon sugar.
4. Stir and heat until the apples are soft. Let cool.
5. Open the cake mix, pour into a mixing bowl.
6. Add the vegetable oil and egg.
7. Take the remaining 3/4 cup of the Spiced Apple Cider and add this to the cake mix (don’t add any more water. This is substituting the water)
8. Add the apples to the cake mix.
9. Grease your cupcake pan (I used liners) and fill. Bake at 350 degrees for 10-15 minutes or until it passes the toothpick test.

I frost these with my homemade Peanut Butter Frosting which I will be posting later today. They do taste great with powered sugar as well.

***Toothpick test*** If you place a toothpick into a cupcake and it pulls out “clean” (nothing gooey on it) then it is fully cooked and done.

Leave a comment